volunteer

I recently nominated my mom and her friend for a holiday volunteering award for the work they do with Salvation Army. That got me thinking about the other people I could also have nominated: my boyfriend for his help delivering food and toys with his club, my grandmother for helping with Operation Foodbasket and probably many others.

At the holidays, especially during a difficult economy, the old adage is really true, “it’s better to give than to receive.” I’m still having trouble getting my son to buy into that, though. He’s already hoping for a guitar, legoland and Wii games for Christmas.

I think an hour or so helping me ring the bell at the Wal-mart kettle might do him some good-

About mcbarlow5

37-year-old working mom in KY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

