My Playlist

In author Jodi Picoult’s latest novel, Sing You Home, Zoe, the main character and a music therapist, creates musical life playlists for her clients.

The book got me wondering what I would include in a playlist of my life. Below is what I came up with. Some of the songs correspond directly with events in my life, and some are just songs I love.

Anyway, in chronological order, here’s my life’s playlist (thus far):

-“The Most Beautiful Girl in the World” by Charlie Rich-I remember from my earliest memories at about age 4 my dad coming home from work at night and dancing with me to this song. I know. Sweet.

-“Total Eclipse of the Heart” by Bonnie Tyler-This song was popular the first of many times I was rejected by a guy I had a crush on.

-“Welcome to the Jungle” by Guns n Roses-I first heard and saw the video for this song when I was about fifteen, the same age I unfortunately started smoking. I had never seen or heard anything quite like it, and I couldn’t get enough. Its release corresponded perfectly with my teenage angst.

-“In the Arms of the Angels” by Sarah Mclachlan-I became active in volunteering with the local humane society in my mid-20s. At the same time, this song became associated with animal welfare issues.

-“My Wish” by Rascal Flatts-This song captures perfectly how I feel about my son, nieces and nephews.

Ok, that’s my playlist. What’s on yours?

About mcbarlow5

37-year-old working mom in KY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

