my bday

Tomorrow is my 39th birthday, which means my 40th birthday is just one year away! That’s a scary thought. I remember feeling old when I turned 30, so I’m really feeling old now. I also remember feeling that, at 30, I hadn’t accomplished all I had on my list at that point. I wasn’t in a high level in my career and I didn’t have children.

Well, staring down 40, I do have a wonderful if maddening little boy who I adopted almost 10 years ago. I’m still not exactly burning it up in my career, but I did make supervisor a few years ago. I also own my own home.

I guess the things we strive for change often during our lifetimes. With more years behind me than before me as a full-time mother and employee, I’m starting to look beyond for future goals. Somewhere over the horizon, I picture myself retired with grandchildren, traveling and doing volunteer work when I’m not babysitting.

But who really knows what the future holds? And would we want to know if we could? At this point, I think I’m going to try to live more a day at a time, appreciating what I have for the moment. Will this positive attitude last until next year’s milestone birthday? I doubt it!

About mcbarlow5

37-year-old working mom in KY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

