the big 40


Yesterday was my 40th birthday. I’ve been dreading it for awhile and tried to savor every last second of being 39. However, so far the dread was worse than the reality of being 40. Although I’m officially old, I really don’t feel or look any different than I did two days ago. The same flab, gray hair and wrinkles are still here, but no additional ones sprouted overnight. I’m sure there will be additional flab once I finish off my 3 birthday cakes though.

Milestone birthdays seem to cause more stress than need be. I remember dreading my 30th birthday, and I’ll probably dread my 50th birthday too. On second thought, maybe I won’t dread that one because, if everything goes according to plan, I’ll be a retired empty nester traveling the world at that point. But, I digress. Although it is a cliche, “you’re only as old as you feel” really is true. Some days I feel 25, and others I feel 60, so I guess it balances out in the end.

All in all, what I’m trying to say is 40’s not so bad so far. The best may well be yet to come. However, for the work friends who plastered the “lordy, lordy, look who’s 40” signs with my picture all over the building, be prepared. You have birthdays too!

About mcbarlow5

37-year-old working mom in KY
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

