spelling bee

spellingbeeCongrats to Arvind Marhankali, who won the national Scripps Spelling Bee last night. The event always takes me back almost 30 years to the time when, as an 11-year-old dork, I came within one word of competing in the national spelling bee.

Back then, the words being spelled seemed a little easier than some of the nonsensical words used in the bee now. When our Kentucky state group was whittled down to an 8th grade boy from Louisville and me, the word I was given was “maelstrom,” which is a swirling whirlpool, in case you’re interested. I had never heard the word. After asking for a repeat and definition of the word, I started to spell. M O U S E T R I M. Way incorrect. The Louisville boy spelled it correctly and won.

After getting over my embarassment of phonetically spelling a word like a rodent’s haircut, I took pictures, collected my awards of a dictionary and savings bond and went home. Maybe it’s a good thing I didn’t make it to the national bee. There’s no telling how badly I could have butchered a word’s spelling there…

About mcbarlow5

37-year-old working mom in KY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

