Happy Freakin Holidays!

imageI was feeling pretty Scroogey until Wednesday morning. I decided to go into work late that day to try to finish up some Christmas errands. After purchasing most of the rest of my gifts and a couple of items to donate for the animal shelter angel tree, I actually found myself singing along to Christmas songs on the radio.

I guess my mild act of charity reminded me of the true meaning of Christmas or something like that. But, lo and behold, within twelve hours my social media feeds had filled up with posts by “Christian” friends outraged over a TV network’s decision to suspend a reality show star for making hateful statements and over people trying to be inclusive by saying Happy Holidays rather than Merry Christmas. Needless to say, my festive spirit was somewhat dampened.

Hopefully people will realize that their energy could be better used spent on doing things for family, friends and others than on railing on about relatively inconsequential issues. Somehow I doubt Jesus would have found these issues as important as poverty, homelessness or other social ills.

As for me, this picture of my son with Santa restored my good mood. So, Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays or whatever holiday greeting you prefer. Make it a good one!

About mcbarlow5

37-year-old working mom in KY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.