admission

imageOk, I admit it. Sometimes I wish my kid were different. I wish he was more of a scholar when it comes to writing and math. I wish he didn’t get wild and fight getting dressed and ready for school in the morning. I wish that, when I ask him what he wants for birthday or Christmas, he would say he just wants everyone to donate to charity on his behalf.

However, sometimes I forget to look at things from the perspective of being thankful for all of his good qualities. I’m glad he got his good looks from his birth parents. I’m glad he is a strong reader, loves social studies and science and knows more about current events than many adults. I feel happy when I see him run a ball up a soccer field past kids a foot taller than he is.

When he indignantly tells me how his friend was supposedly unjustly punished for behavior when he was just doing his schoolwork or when his teachers tell me in a 504 meeting how kind and nice he is, I feel proud. I can’t help but laugh when I see his cheeks puff out like a chipmunk playing clarinet with what I’m sure must be less-than-stellar embouchure.

I guess what I should be saying is I’m glad I have the great kid I do!

About mcbarlow5

37-year-old working mom in KY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

