news blues

wordpressI suppose I’m going to have to stop watching and reading the news. Or maybe I can limit my watching to the weather and little snippets of local news. My dilemma is that news, especially internet-based sites, seems to be so drastically off-center from the vast majority of people’s views.

I’m almost as sick of the race-baiters and feminazis of Slate and yes, even WordPress, as I am of the anti-abortion and anti-gay-rights hatemongers of Blaze and the like. For example, WordPress, the site that hosts this blog, in the past has at least tried to feature posts arguing different views on an issue. However, every post it has featured dealing with the Ferguson and Staten Island police cases has been almost entirely negative of the police and supportive of the protesters.  I too think there are some issues with some police officers’ use of force, but I also think there was more at play than race in these situations. Isn’t there even room for an opposing view? As for Slate, at least I have seen differing viewpoints represented on the torture and campus rape stories. But on this one? Zilch.

I guess what is going to have to happen is for us to use our commercial power by not visiting these sites until or unless they report from a less-biased position. I realize this is a pretty hypocritical statement to make, being that I’m getting ready to post this on a WordPress site. Hmm, maybe it’s time to start looking for a new site host…

About mcbarlow5

37-year-old working mom in KY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to news blues

  1. utahrob says:

    If you are seeking truth, you’re on your own. There’s too much money in half-truth, because that’s what people want to hear. Don’t let others box you into a position. Always be suspicious of the person wrapped in the flag: it’s the last refuge of the scoundrel.

Leave a Reply

