Buh bye, Kid Rock

Dear Kid Rock (Bobby):

I hate to have to say this, but we’re going to have to break up. I’m sure this may come as a shock to you since you have no idea who I am, but let me explain:

I have loved you and your music since you hit the music scene big in the 90s. Seeing the video for “Bawitdaba” on MTV (back when MTV still showed videos) was reminiscent of seeing GnR’s video for “Welcome to the Jungle” over a decade earlier. I had never seen or heard anything like it.

I followed you from rap rock to country and back again. I thought the charity work you did for veterans was so cool. I bought your cds, went to your concerts and even considered going on your cruise.

Then a funny thing happened. Early this year I saw a picture circulating of you with psychotic Ted Nugent and a mountain lion you killed. Was this animal attacking someone’s livestock, or did you just think it would make a nice prize?

image

Now I have read your new Rolling Stone interview. It describes how you and your girlfriend Audrey shoot and eventually kill a group of penned feral pigs after you say “We’re about to do some murderous shit.”

image

Now I understand that feral pigs are considered a nuisance in parts of the South. However, to gleefully shoot defenseless, frightened caged animals doesn’t seem like much of a sport to me. Let’s just hope their meat was eaten and not wasted.

Hunting is of course legal, and you have the right to do it. I simply don’t understand how someone could derive such pleasure from inflicting pain and death. Are you doing it to punish your ex, Pam Anderson, a famous PETA spokesperson? If so, surely there are more mature ways to go about that. I know you have dogs and will soon have a grandchild. I hope you don’t treat them the way you do wild animals. I won’t even mention the derogatory way you describe your fan base in the article.

In closing, this was a very difficult letter for me to write. I loved you and your music, but, due to your recent treatment of animals, we must part ways for now. I won’t be buying your music or concert tickets (despite the fact that you do try to keep ticket prices down), as long as you continue your current behavior. I know you don’t care, but I did. Once.

Sincerely,
Mel

About mcbarlow5

37-year-old working mom in KY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

